Whole Grain Wild Garlic & Cheddar Scones

wg scones head

Wild garlic season is my favourite season. Mostly because it’s also known as the beginning of spring, but the fact that some forests are lined with green luscious leaves that make the world smell like garlic isn’t bad either. Supposedly Great Britain is full of such forests, but I have no idea how to find them. I also read a blog or two about foraging in London, but the only forest in walking distance is an artificial one(for someone coming from a land that’s more than 50% forests it seems quite ridiculous that one would decide to plant a forest, mainly because one has nothing better to do) that frequently hosts illegal raves, so I don’t really like the idea of eating anything that grows there.

Luckily, I was on a short visit to Slovenia, and Norbs mother brought me some wild garlic she picked in the completely natural Slovenian forests and I brought it back home with me. I travelled with Wizz air and with the smallest possible luggage size so unfortunately I couldn’t bring tons of it, but just enough to make a few dishes. And for the first one I had to combine Slovenian products with British traditions. So I made scones. We’ve established that I’m almost a bit too fond of scones, I think I’ve also told you once or twice about how much I love garlic, so the fact that I made two batches in the last 3 days should not be a surprise to you. The second time, I even took some pictures of the process, to restart my blog with something amazing. So here’s the recipe:

Whole grain wild garlic&cheddar scones

You’ll need:

ingridents

  • 100 g self rising flour
  • 100g whole grain flour
  • 100 g butter (I use unsalted and add salt to the recipe, but use whatever you have on hand)
  • 100 g cheddar, grated
  • 1 handful of wild garlic leaves, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 tsp backing powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • seasoning to taste
  • 3/4 butter milk (or cup of milk+1 tsp neutral tasting acid (e.g. lemon juice, rice vinegar))
  • 1 egg (optional)

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a baking tray with parchment paper.

2.Combine the two flours with seasoning and both levelling agents.

3. Rub the flour and the butter together until most of the butter has been incorporated and you only have a few larger(pea sized) pieces left.

4. Add the wild garlic and cheddar, mix well.

5. Slowly add the butter milk until everything clumps together. You might not have to add the whole 3/4 cup or you might have to add more, that always depends on a number of factors.

6. Knock the mixture onto a large cutting board a shape a rough rectangle approximately 2 centimetres thick.

7. Cut out the scones with a knife (whatever size you like). You could use a round cutter if you really wanted to, but it’s easier to just cut them with a sharp knife because the large pieces of wild garlic that are in there could cause problems. Place on the lined baking tray.

*8. Brush tops with egg wash.

pečica

9. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden.

wgscones1

2 thoughts on “Whole Grain Wild Garlic & Cheddar Scones

Leave a Reply

