Rice Pudding Souffle

Souffle

I would never ever buy processed canned food. Never. I think it has to do with my upbringing, I don’t remember eating processed foods as a child. My father always said that only amateurs used kitchen helpers like that (he’s not a “professional” like a chef or anything. He’s just a bit pretentious. In an adorable way.).

ASDA, however, does not know that about me. And when we ordered our last pack of groceries from them, they thought it’s appropriate to substitute raw pudding rice for canned rice pudding. Since I’m new to the whole system, I didn’t really notice that on the substitute list when I glanced over it, so I’m partially to blame for the two cans in our pantry.

But I’m also not one to waste food (that probably has to do with all the stories about starving children in Africa from my childhood), so I had to make something with it. And the only thing I could think of was something I’m going to call rice pudding soufflé, for the lack of a better translation. And it’ pretty delicious, so I’m sharing the recipe for all of you with unexpected cans of rice pudding in your pantry. (This is also one of my favourite comfort foods, so I encourgae you to make it even if you don’t have unexpected cans. I juts usually make it with rice pudding leftovers).

(for 2 -3 servings) You’ll need:

  • 1 400 ml can of rice pudding (or an equivalent of home-made rice pudding)
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract

1.Heat the oven to 180°C.

2.Beat the egg yolks, sugar and vanilla together until frothy. The colour has to turn to almost white.

3. Mix in the rice pudding.

4. Beat the egg whites with the salt until peaks form.

5. Gently fold a third of the egg whites into the yolk pudding mix. Fold in the rest of the egg whites.

6. Transfer into an oven-proof dish and bake for 30 minutes.

7. Serve with blueberry preserve. Or sprinkle with chocolate powder. Or make fruit sauce. The possibilities are endless.

8. Dober tek:)

Ps: Isn’t Ari adorable? Sitting there, like a good school boy, pretending there’s nothing unusual going on. OK, to be fair, nothing unusual is going on. We’re bad dog owners who let the dog pretend he’s human by sitting on a chair at the table. But look at him. Just LOOK at him.

Leave a Reply

