Regrowing vegetables, an experiment

Regrowing vegetables has been a pretty popular topic around the internet in the last few years. When I still lived at home (aka my parents house), we had a ridiculously huge garden and usually didn’t buy vegetables, so regrowing store bought produce seemed pretty ridiculous. But once we moved I had a great opportunity to have fun experimenting with it a little while pretending I’m saving money and the environment.

I started “my little projects” around the mid of August very enthusiastically. I bought two bunches of celery and a pack of baby leeks, just so I could cut the tops of and stick them in some water. I left them there for a week. (I also cooked some delicious dishes out of the tops…:)) Everything seemed magical at first. The centres of the celery started getting greener and growing quite fast. Like half a centimetre a day.The leeks were even faster, they grew by about a centimetre a day. I though I’ll have new produce in a month, since I’ve predicted that everything is going to go even faster once I’d plant them in soil. In the whole spirit of success, I bought a ginger root that was obviously sprouting and put some lettuce (or other kind of salad, I never know what they are called) cut-offs in water.I replanted all of them and put them outside. Than I forgot about the whole thing for a while, the weather wasn’t nice and there was so much to do, so I didn’t go into our tiny garden much.

magic!

begining

I thought everything was going great until I realised almost a month has gone by and everything stopped growing. Well, the salad actually got eaten by snails or slugs or some other evil creatures during the night, but the leeks and the celery and the ginger just stayed the same for two weeks.

after 3 weeks

I figured it might be because of the colder weather and moved (in a very scientific way) some of the plants inside, to see if that would affect anything. It didn’t. Turns out all of these vegetables just grow painfully slow- so much so that you don’t even notice the progress if you don’t take pictures.

week 8

The only exception were the two new lettuces that seemed to grow really fast. But when I planted them, I kind of forgot about how head lettuce grows in general. I have no professional background so I might say some stupid things now, but at a certain stage, lettuce stops forming the head and starts growing the flowery tall parts. (I know that because we usually forgot about a plant or two in our garden at home and found out about them once they were half a meter tall) These parts have tiny bitter leafs and are juts not edible. I then tried it with lettuce that seemed like a different (“not head” :)) kind at it also looked promising for two weeks, but this one has also betrayed me and started growing the flower.

lettuce (week 4)

So the bottom line is if you have lots of time and patience and enjoy gardening, but don’t actually have a garden, regrowing some store bought produce like celery can be fun. I’m not decided on the leeks yet, they seem to only grow in height and are not getting any thicker, so they might also be a fail. I tried growing giner once beofre during the summer and it actually gre pretty fast, but this one just grows a mm a week, so I might have to move it to a very warm spot. And lastley, don’t waste your time with lettuce, That one will definitely disappoint you.

thin leeks

ginger (week 7)

4 thoughts on “Regrowing vegetables, an experiment

  1. I posted on Craftster, but you seem to be doing a good job with things (and time gets away from me tending my garden, too! 🙂 The only way I have done lettuce is from the seeds, or mini plants. Maybe that is not a kitchen scrap item? It probably just wants to finish it’s life cycle out, and not really produce well.

    ~T

  2. I’ve grown green onions (so incredibly easy) and ginger before, but haven’t tried celery or leeks. I love the idea of using kitchen scraps though, as I tend to kill most plants so the idea of spending money on a plant I’ll inevitably kill.

  3. Leeks usually grow painfully slow, even when you try to grow them out of seeds. It takes about 3 weeks before the sprouts even appear after sowing… So it might take a while? 🙂

Leave a Reply

